Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default Ever feel awkward while carrying?

So, my wife and I decided to walk to Rita's the other night and get some frozen goodness. And when we arrived, the place was SWAMPED with little kids and their parents. The WHOLE time we were there I felt incredibly self conscious about the g23 on my hip that "Might" print in front of them... To the point where I just wanted to leave. I guess I was just worried about some parent being smart enough to notice it and pull the whole "do you really feel the need to have a gun here?"

Anyone else ever feel uncomfortable carrying in a situation like that or something similar? Ever been confronted?

Just found it odd, usually I don't even think twice about it in other settings.

(Centre County)

Default Re: Ever feel awkward while carrying?

I'm new to CC and just reading your story made me sweat I'm hoping to take babysteps.

So to answer your question, yeah, I'm always feeling awkward at this point.

(Allegheny County)

Not even OC and you felt that way!?

When I first started carrying, yes.

Now I barely think about it when OC - don't think about it all when CC.
    FNX-9 Two-tone

(Fayette County)

To me that feeling is strange.

You may think you're the only one around you carrying, but the reality of it is A LOT of people carry.
    And how often in your daily routine do you see someone "print"?

Id say 99.999% of the public arent scanning each and every person looking to see if they have a concealed handgun.

And when they do see a calm and respectable person in the public carrying a gun, most of them just assume that person is a LEO of some kind.

Just my 2¢
    "One must be a fox to recognize traps, and a lion to frighten wolves” ~ Machiavelli

I'd feel very self conscious carrying a G23 if my screen name was 45_ACP_4_ME. Seriously though...