Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Kids and guns?

(Monroe County)

Default Kids and guns?

I am relatively new to guns, My question is regarding my step son, he is 9 years old (looks more like 11) anyway he has always been curious about guns. As a result I have my guns locked up and unloaded all the times (which I would do regardless if he was interested in them or not). I would eventually like to take him to the range when he gets older but in the meantime I am working with him on safety.

Now he is showing more and more interest, My concern though is, If I ignore his interest, I am afraid that he will be more apt to try and handle them when no one is looking (they are locked all the time so he can't get them) but never underestimate the power of a curious mind.

I guess what my question is, do you feel he would be to young to introduce to firearms, or am I doing the right thing by teaching him safety and not ignoring his interest?

I don't plan on taking him to the range for a few years, but we have BB guns that we shoot together, he has shown remarkable responsibility when it comes to using the BB guns ( a lot more than I anticipated) and I constantly go over safety.

Anyway I was just wondering what all of your thoughts are on this sort of thing.

Thank you in advance for you help and responses.

(Lebanon County)

Default Re: Kids and guns?

He's certainly not too young. You are doing good by teaching him safety, but by all means, get him out for some trigger time. You say "he has shown remarkable responsibility when it comes to using the BB guns", that's fantastic, now let him show you how responsible he can be with something more than BB gun. You might end up with a good shooting buddy, and that will help strengthen your relationship.