Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Non-resident hunting?

Hi all,
    I am a resident of New York, with a New York State pistol license.

I would like to handgun hunt wild boar at the Tioga Boar hunting preserve in Pennsylvania.

Do I need a special handgun license/permit to be able to hunt there? I do not intend to carry concealed while in PA, just want to bring a unloaded handgun to Tioga and hunt wild boar.
    Thanks.

Default Re: Non-resident hunting?

I'm not sure if hunting at a preserve changes the guns which are lawful to hunt with, but assuming it does not, provided the the gun is a center fire revolver, and is transported unloaded in your trunk or a locked case directly to the preserve and back to NY you will be OK. It's also a good practice to store your ammo seperate from the firearm.
    FUCK BIDEN

(Jefferson County)

What kind of license if your New York permit? Home & Range? Carry?

You first must transport legally under New York laws. ...your permit must allow transporting for hunting.

Your NYS permit will allow you to transport/carry within a vehicle while in PA. While in the vehicle you can carry it openly or concealed, loaded or unloaded. Once outside of the vehicle in PA you would only be allowed to carry it openly.

Mind you, our game laws will also determine what you can use to take game. Small game can only use a .22rf or small manually operated handgun. Except groundhog, which you can use any caliber and any type of ignition. Large game like deer and bear, you can only use centerfire manually operated handguns. Absolutely NO semi-auto handguns are allowed to take game with - unless you have lost use of one hand - then the gun must have a magazine capacity of no more than 4 rounds.