Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (York County)

Question inheritance of firearms (scenario question)

Gandfather dies. Son (my uncle) who lived with him his whole life. Tells his nephew (me grandson). Is there anything that you would want of your grandfathers. "yep" all his guns, pistols and rifles.

There is no will. I guess my uncle would be the executor of state (by default). I dont believe they ever went to a lawyer to have this done.

From what I read, I am under the impression. he should be able to just give me what ever firearms I want. Being that they are not class 3, and I am not prohibited by law, which I am not.

I want to do this right (by law). Because if something would happen, and they take my grandfathers guns from me. I think I would cry.
    I AM A PROFESSIONAL. DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME

(Susquehanna County)

Default Re: inheritance of firearms (scenario question)

Rifles and shotguns yes, it is just a ftf "sale". Handguns, go through a FFL just to CYA since they are not a direct gift or bequest to you from your grandfather.

"Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities".

All Pennsylvania residents?

(Jefferson County)

Quote Originally Posted by Brick View Post
    Rifles and shotguns yes, it is just a ftf "sale". Handguns, go through a FFL just to CYA since they are not a direct gift or bequest to you from your grandfather.
    He could inherit them via intestate succession which is covered just the same as having a will.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Jefferson County)

Quote Originally Posted by donm View Post
    Remember too that federal law allows for interstate transfers via bequest and intestate succession.

The only concern would be with any party being in a state that restricts transfers.