Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Bedford County)

Default Anybody with Duracoat Experience?

I want to Duracoat my Glock to give it a more custom look that suits my taste. I've been looking at purchasing a starter kit from lauer, and then buying the color that I wanted with the pre-treat stuff. Does anybody have any insights, examples, pictures, or general information that could help me with this project. I've never done it before, so I'm a little nervous.
    I am not a lawyer !!

(Armstrong County)

Default Re: Anybody with Duracoat Experience?

Its not a pistol, but I coated a stripped upper, lower, alum rail, part of a stock a few months ago.
    It went pretty damn easy really. Just follow the instructions and you will be fine.
    Either use the recommended cleaner or break cleaner, both seemed to work the same.
    Just watch the break cleaner on some plastic parts.

That was my first time spraying with anything other than a rattle can. Just do a few tests on something to check your air pressure.

I have yet to really beat on it to see how well it holds up. I did part of the stock and the trigger guard since the pic was taken.

(Bedford County)

Wow, it looks great !! thanks for the information, I really appreciate it !!
    + Rep to you sir
    I am not a lawyer !!

(Beaver County)

The pic in my signature is my AR that I had done by a shop. Advanced tiger stipe pattern in urban camo colors. Been 2 years now and still looks great. I'd say go for it. If it dosent look the way you want just paint it again. Can't go wrong.
    www.Steelvalleycasting.com is your new home for coated bullets and custom ammo.

(Bucks County)

Brian Ahearn over on the CZ forum is in Easton, PA and is now open for business Duracoating fireams I believe (see http://www.czforumsite.info/index.php?topic=34919.0). Looks like he does nice work and would post/give him a call.

(Northampton County)