Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Full length resizing of new brass

I'm new to reloading so I'm reading as many manuals as I can first. I came across a great reloading website www.chuckhawks.com and he metions that full length resizing should be done on new (unfired) cases. And I was just wondering...why? One would think that a brand new case would be sized correctly from the start. Is this info correct? Thanks, Joe

(Columbia County)

Default Re: Full length resizing of new brass

You'd think it would be correctly sized brand new, but it often isn't or has imperfections. Once you buy a batch of new brass, take a look at the case mouths. You'll see that many are not completely round and you'll instantly realize why you resize new brass.

EDIT: I buy probably 95% of my brass once-fired, so I don't have a ton of experience with new brass. I've only bought new brass in .243, 30-06, .500 S&W. and 10mm. I noticed that the rifle cases were much worse than the pistol cases. In fact, the .500 appeared as though they could have been loaded without sizing. The rifle and 10mm cases were Winchester brand and the .500 was Starline. I don't know if it's a difference between brands or if rifle brass is usually worse. Either way, it's best to resize all new brass if you decide to buy new.
    Last edited by max384; March 18th, 2011 at 09:53 AM.

(Westmoreland County)

This is one of those myths that have circled the web several times. Every time you FL size, you work harden the brass, why add too it. All brass is made to specific specks.
    The only thing I do to new brass is trim to length, some will come threw a little longer than others.
    Or if loading cast bullets you will need to open them up a little.

(Delaware County)