Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default First day shooting Taurus TCP 380

After reading tons of poor reviews online about the Taurus PT738 TCP 380 I was really fearing the worst heading to the range today. Sure, I read some good reviews too but it's always the bad stuff that sticks. Being a novice I'm placing a lot of weight on what I read but still relying on common sense when it's a tough call. Being that I read bad things about ALL 380's, I decided to go with what felt good in my hand and hope for the best.

One of the main things I remembered was people saying not to fire the gun before cleaning it. Seems a lot of the people who had problems took their TCP right to the range and had issues. Sure enough, when I broke it down it was loaded with oil. It's like they expected it to be sitting on the beach for 50yrs from the looks of it. So I'm glad I took the time to clean it up and also got to know the gun from the inside out.

All cleaned and lightly lubed I headed to the range with some Winchester 95gr FMJ target, Remington 95gr UMC, Federal 95gr FMJ, and Federal Premium 90gr HydraShok JHP because that was the only defensive ammo I could find.

In total, I fired 158 rounds today and am VERY happy to say I didn't have one single major issue. The ONLY thing I noticed is that it can be tricky getting the first round chambered. It seems the barrel ramp may be a little too steep but I'm also a novice so I don't know if this is the same for a lot of semi auto's. I found if I racked the slide quickly and just let the spring hammer it closed that it would chamber the first round almost every time. Sometimes I had to try racking it a couple times but it never got really jammed. I'm hoping even this will go away after it's broken in more.