Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Looking for a compact (~4" barrel) 1911

I'm new to the 1911 world. I own a glock 23 and decided I'd also like a 1911. I have a small frame and the g23 is as big as I want carry. I prefer that size. I held a couple 1911s at Gander Mountain and decided I like a commander length slide and an officer frame. I think that would make it just about the size of my glock. The only 1911 I have found appearing to be what I'm looking for is Kimber's Compact Stainless. I found that Springfield used to make a such a 1911. My price limit is around $900. So can any of you 1911 guys point me in the right direction? Thanks!

Default Re: Looking for a compact (~4" barrel) 1911

What you are describing is a CCO - a Commander barrel on an Officer's Frame. It's an excellent choice for CCW. The price point limits the choices available for new guns, but you could possibly find a used Colt. I think Sig has a similar size, the RCS, but am not sure.

Others make them but it would be tough finding one for less than a grand.

Quote Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
    What you are describing is a CCO - a Commander barrel on an Officer's Frame. It's an excellent choice for CCW. The price point limits the choices available for new guns, but you could possibly find a used Colt. I think Sig has a similar size, the RCS, but am not sure.

Others make them but it would be tough finding one for less than a grand.
    Thanks for telling me about CCO type 1911s. I found the Sig model you mentioned. I also found STI makes a CCO as well. The Kimber has an alloy frame while STI and Sig make stainless steel framed models. Now to reseach alloy vs steel frames. That Sig Compact Stainless looks nice.