Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default LTCF, card check, Montgomery Co, no local PD

Complete newb here. I've read lots of posts but still don't understand my first step to acquire a LTCF. Montcos site says to bring my local PD check card to obtain the LTCF. I live in Worcester Twp and don't have a local PD, it's patrolled by state police. I do have a Lansdale mailing address though which does have a PD.

So where do I get the check card? Will the sheriffs dept do everything since I have no local PD?

Thanks, I'm sure I'll be around here a lot. I have questions about buying guns online too but will do some searches before asking.

Default Re: LTCF, card check, Montgomery Co, no local PD

I live in an area of Lancaster County that does not have a local police dept.
    I took the filled out application to the Lancaster County Sheriffs dept and had my LTCF in about 15 min.

(Montgomery County)

Go to the court in norristown. Head to the gun "permit" room. They will give you what you need.

(Delaware County)

Quote Originally Posted by toyfarm View Post
    I live in an area of Lancaster County that does not have a local police dept.
    I took the filled out application to the Lancaster County Sheriffs dept and had my LTCF in about 15 min.
    You're in a different county, Lancaster, your county doesn't ask for a check card. As far as I know Montgomery is the only county that has this extra step. Getting a LTCF is supposed to be the same in each county, you go to your county Sheriff (except in "cities of the first class" currently Philadelphia is the only one), fill out the forms, they do a check on you and if your OK issue the license, but sadly it's not. Some counties you get in a short time with no problems, others give you a hoop or two to jump through, and still other make you wait longer than the 45 days it's supposed to be issued or denied within. Consider yourself lucky.