Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default Detained and disarmed by the PPD today.

So, I finally get to join the detained/disarmed by the PPD Club…

I went down to Philly to pickup my mother from the Greyhound station at 10th/Filbert. As I drove up, she was waiting out front. I pulled up and parked on the street, popped the trunk, got out to put her suitcase in the trunk, and was about to get back in the vehicle when a bicycle PPD officer approached me, asking if I was a cop.

I said no, I'm not, and he proceeded to question me why my weapon was openly showing and give me the 3rd degree about it. He told me it was illegal, and I said, while it wasn't intentional that it was showing - it was most certainly not illegal. This went on for few, and of course my mother wouldn't shut up (even after I asked her several times), joining into the whole thing accusing him of harassment and whatnot.

I really wouldn't say it was harassment at all, beyond the fact that he was giving me a hard time, telling me false laws, and even asking me if I had the paperwork with me, for the weapon. I mean, seriously.. yeah I'm totally gonna keep my sales receipt with me on the time… *rolls eyes*

So, I'm detained, and disarmed. The original officer takes my weapon to another cruiser and they run my license, LTCF and the weapon's serial to see if it's stolen. While that's happening, my mother and I are standing there with a couple officers, one of whom again starts giving me the 3rd degree and treating me like a child and giving me cliche anti-carry arguments.