Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Need help finding a good fit for tiny hands

I'm 31 (not getting any bigger) 5'6" 130lbs. I have really small hands, I usually refer to them as "tiny little girl hands". They're much smaller than any other men I know and even most women for that matter. It doesn't really bother me.
    I am relatively new to shooting (I've learned a lot from this forum, thanks!), the first pistol I purchased was a Glock 19. This wasn't a great choice in the end. I have never been able to find a "comfortable" grip, and have difficulty working the magazine release (note: it is a stock mag release, so an extended one may help, but it's also a problem of reach, my thumb is short).

Ok, so here are my questions: Should I get a grip reduction or go to a new platform? As to grip reductions I'm not so much worried about how expensive they are (I know) but how effective? I'm leaning towards going in a different direction: Where should I be looking? I do have a preference for something with a hi cap double stack magazine (9mm) but I realize that I need to flexible on that point due to the whole small hands thing. Any and all advice welcomed, especially from people who also have (really) small hands.

(York County)

Default Re: Need help finding a good fit for tiny hands

You can, of course, do whatever you want and whatever works for you, but have you ever tried a pistol with a single-stack magazine?

...or a revolver?

My wife hated my XD45 because it felt so obviously too large in her hands. She could shoot it ok, but she wasn't crazy about it. We found her a used single-stack Beretta and let her shoot it before buying it, and she loved it. Although the grip appears to be just as large from the side, it is much thinner and she says it feels more like she is controlling it, rather than it controlling her.