Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Where in PA are good places to hunt coyote?

Hey fellas, I'm relatively new to hunting and had wanted to try my hand at coyote hunting. I would love any advice you can give especially regarding location. I was wondering where it would be best to go hunting. My plans as of right now were to use my beloved Savage 30-06 and head up around Beltzville Lake. Any input would be much appreciated...thanks again for the help and god bless

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Where in PA are good places to hunt coyote?

SPP,

Welcome aboard!
    Now if you lived in the PGH area I could tell you about some places with in about 10 mi. of downtown to hunt 'yotes but seeing your across the state I'm sorry but I can't help you. Maybe try farms and ranchers that might be looking to have a few "removed" from their property before they lose any more live stock. This could mean some driving for you and I'll bet some rejections(let's face it- there are slob hunters out there who have been there before you) but if you prove yourself trust worthy you'll be invited back and the word will spread.

I used to belong to "The Varmint Hunter" club and mag and IIRC there was a PA chapter you might want to contact.
    Good hunting and watch your back.

Sounds like a plan, I think I can work with that. I grew up knowing a couple farmers throughout PA. I guess its time to see if they still remember me and hopefully the housing contractors haven't divided up their land. I wouldn't mind driving or making a trip out of it. I really appreciate the input, and I' m sure ill find a way when you enjoy something this much. Love and Desperation breed Ingenuity.
    Thanks for the warm welcome, good hunting to ya.

(York County)

I just spent last week up in Huntingdon hunting SGL 67. I talked to the locals and the place is polluted with them. I never seen so much coyote poop before. So you might want to check it out up there.