Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Centre County)

Default Newbie, Interested in Visiting a Range Near State College

Hi Everyone,

My girlfriend wants to own a gun when she graduates college. However, she has never actually shot one, and neither have I. She is visiting me this weekend and I'd like to bring her to a range to get some experience with a firearm so she can know the important in's and out's of owning one.

A few questions: I am a Penn State student, is there a range in State College? Will I have to pay to use the facilities/how much? Can I rent a gun for the afternoon to use just for the range? Would I have to purchase ammunition?

Any other information that I should know, being that I don't know anything in the first place, would be welcome.

Thanks

(Centre County)

Default Re: Newbie, Interested in Visiting a Range Near State College

Quote Originally Posted by drleospaceman View Post
    Hi Everyone,

My girlfriend wants to own a gun when she graduates college. However, she has never actually shot one, and neither have I. She is visiting me this weekend and I'd like to bring her to a range to get some experience with a firearm so she can know the important in's and out's of owning one.

A few questions: I am a Penn State student, is there a range in State College? Will I have to pay to use the facilities/how much? Can I rent a gun for the afternoon to use just for the range? Would I have to purchase ammunition?

Any other information that I should know, being that I don't know anything in the first place, would be welcome.

Thanks
    Hello and welcome!

Depending on where she is coming from, you may be better off visiting her as the public state range in the State College area does not rent. In Pittsburgh there is Anthony Arms and Philadelphia has Classic Pistol and others. I'm not sure if any of them offer instruction for newbies.