Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Luzerne County)

Default Question on penalty...

What is the penalty (degree of misdemeanor or felony) if someone got caught with a firearm locked in their vehicle on school property? The person does have a valid LTCF.
    Last edited by steelmover; December 14th, 2010 at 11:42 AM. Reason: Better question
    "No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms." - Thomas Jefferson

Sinking Spring/Wernersville, Pennsylvania
    (Berks County)

Default Re: Question on penalty...

If someone where to have a gun in their vehicle on school property in the trunk of a car, I believe it would be a felony but I am not a lawyer and not entirely sure. There is a lawyer on the forum (GunLawyer) and I believe he had a case of another here that had a gun in their car while on school property. You might be able to find it.

Sorry I can't be more helpful.
    Last edited by acosenza2; December 14th, 2010 at 11:52 AM.
    "Always vote for principle, though you may vote alone, and you may cherish the sweetest reflection that your vote is never lost." - JOHN ADAMS, 2nd President of the United States of America

(Chester County)

Violation of 18 Pa CSA 912 is a first degree misdemeanor (M1). M1s carry a max sentence of 5 years IIRC.
    IANAL

(Lehigh County)

Quote Originally Posted by steelmover View Post
    What is the penalty (degree of misdemeanor or felony) if someone got caught with a firearm locked in their vehicle on school property? The person does have a valid LTCF.
    There is now case law that supports the "other legal purpose" language in this statute.

Look around this site, you should be able to find the threads on this topic.

IANAL, nor am I advising you to carry on school property. If you found your self in this situation AND YOU HAVE A DECENT LAWYER you should make out ok.
    When you are called a racist, it just means you won an argument with an Obama supporter.

(Berks County)