Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Out of state gun purchase

Sorry if this has been asked over and over again, but I couldn't find the right answer anywhere.
    First off I am a Md resident, although originally from Pa. What are the laws regarding shotgun purchases in Pa from an out of stater? I was hoping to go to cabelas next week and pick up a new shotgun.

Thanks for any info you can provide.

Default Re: Out of state gun purchase

I would call them

(Centre County)

A person can buy a long arm (rifle or shotgun) from any FFL in any state (and Cabelas has a FFL), AS LONG AS the sale meets the laws of where you are buying it AND your state of residence. Some states have bans on large cap magazines, this would mean that if you were a resaident of that state you could not go to another state and buy a gun that has the banned (in your state) magazine.

From the BATFE:

From whom may an unlicensed person acquire a firearm under the GCA?
    A person may only acquire a firearm within the person’s own State, except that he or she may purchase or otherwise acquire a rifle or shotgun, in person, at a licensee’s premises in any State, provided the sale complies with State laws applicable in the State of sale and the State where the purchaser resides. A person may borrow or rent a firearm in any State for temporary use for lawful sporting purposes.

[18 U.S.C. 922(a)(3) and (5), 922(b)(3), 27 CFR 478.29 and 478.30]

You will still have to undergo the PA backgound check, but Cabelas will know how to do that with an out of state buyer.
    Ron USAF Ret E-8 FFL01/SOT3 NRA Benefactor Member

Quote Originally Posted by brdy View Post
    Sorry if this has been asked over and over again, but I couldn't find the right answer anywhere.
    First off I am a Md resident, although originally from Pa. What are the laws regarding shotgun purchases in Pa from an out of stater? I was hoping to go to cabelas next week and pick up a new shotgun.