Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: New to Philly

(Philadelphia County)

Default New to Philly

hey I'm new to philly and I'm going to be able to get myself a few firearms this coming summer. So I was wondering if there were any good stores or clubs in Philadelphia where I can go and ask a bunch of questions and handle the various long guns to get a feel for what I'd like without bothering the owner. Basically I'm looking for a smaller and more personal type of store where the proprietor had the time to answer the questions I have about the rifles.

I have a small list and while I have the shotgun taken care of, I want to feel the rifles. The first rifle I want is a .22 as a plinking and training rifle, and I'm considering the savage mark II btvs, f, and bv; but I need to get a definite feel for it first to make sure it will fit me. The second is an ak clone mainly because I'm worried they may get banned after the coming election.

I just want to go somewhere where the people will have the time and desire to explain things to me and not just hustle me into buying his rifle.

(Delaware County)

Default Re: New to Philly

"SPAG", as it's called by the members here, has a decent selection, and you can rent guns and shoot them at their range upstairs. I'm not sure about rifles or shotguns but I know they rent handguns, they do allow you to fire rifles there.

PHILADELPHIA ARCHERY & GUN CLUB (<--- click there)

831-833 ELLSWORTH ST.

PHILADELPHIA, PA. 19147

215-551-4544
    Last edited by soberbyker; November 12th, 2007 at 06:14 AM.

(Bucks County)

Yes, go to SPAG, and for your purposes it's best to go on a weekday -- you'll have a lot more of their attention than on the crowded weekends.

There's a lot of us from the city here on PAFOA. Just read the threads and ask questions...by next summer you'll be a lot more comfortable buying.

(Delaware County)

Quote Originally Posted by dgg9 View Post