Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Safe gun handling/cleaning classes?

I wish there was such a class. A class to teach about various semi pistols - how they work ie loading unloading and safe practices and what is a no no ie fingers over ejection port etc proper cleaning which is also extremely important for care of the gun. I am a newbie and have a few revolvers and also one Ruger Mark III semi which I am still learning about. I happen to be female but the class should be for anyone male or female.

I would love some hands on classes maybe with trainer bullets to really give some of us beginner shooters (and maybe some not so beginner shooters) good valuable lessons on safe handling/unsafe handling. There is much to know and I would prefer not to learn the hard dangerous way. The NRA pistol course i took was extremely basic.

If the class could have available a whole array of various semi automatic pistols available to look and and talk about for educated decisions ie double action/ da/sa/ 1911s. I have learned a little but i also was told wrong info from gun store staff. (example once the ruger 22 magazine is loaded - push on bolt release and let it slam back on its own to load a round) I sensed that may not be right and called Ruger finally -I was told not to do that as it can eventually damage the lockback something or other. I should just pull back on the bolt and let it go. (just one example)

It would involve no shooting - just information education !!

Is there such a thing? (pittsburgh area) Just wondering.....

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: Safe gun handling/cleaning classes?

For specific guns you can get AGI training vidioes. You can watch them while you take your gun down. Youtube has been a good source also.

I get most of my AGI vidioes off of ebay.
    troll Free. It's all in your mind.

(Westmoreland County)

Quote Originally Posted by Just1more View Post