DISCLAIMER: I am not an expert, and possess no qualifications. These are simply accumulated nuggets of wisdom that work for me, and I wish were passed to me when I first got into shooting.

So having been around the block regarding firearms for a couple years now I feel the need to make a few comments and suggestions:

1.) Live, love, and blindly obey Cooper's 4-rules until they are automatic. No excuses, no just-this-onces, and thus no negligent discharges. You should know the four rules like you know your name, and their application should require no thought or reminders. Do not ever believe that you are better than, or experienced enough to violate the four rules.

2.) BUY USED GUNS!!! I cannot stress this enough. As a young gun owner I purchased new, and vastly over priced firearms from borderline predatory dealers. Then I found PAFOA, and its firearms section. Most used guns were not even properly broken in, but were properly maintained. It is not hard to find the object of your desire being sold by a reputable member if you are patient. This concept is quite comparable to buying a new car off a lot or a "used" car with a couple thousand miles on it. Save money, help a fellow member, and make a new friend out of a fellow gun owner.

3.) Factor ammo and accessories into every firearms purchase. Saving up the money for a gun is the first step, but be sure to factor in a sufficient amount of ammo to become proficient with it. If you can't afford the ammo then you can't afford the gun.

4.) Seek instruction! Join a private club, or shoot with experienced shooters at the SGL ranges. You can learn everything you need to know by reading tons of articles in books and online, expending hundreds of rounds at the range, and constant dry fire; or someone can show you, critique you, and have you up to speed with minimal amounts of time and ammo.