Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Northampton County)

Default Challenge to Community College firearms ban

I am a licensed attorney practicing in the Lehigh Valley. I am currently looking for a student with a LTCF to act as a plaintiff in a lawsuit to have the firearms bans on community colleges declared invalid. Please PM me if you or someone you know is a current student who already possess a LTCF and wishes to carry on campus without fear of reprisal.

I believe these rules may violate PA law (preemption) and possibly state and federal constitutional protections.

Thank you.

(Delaware County)

Default Re: Challenge to Community College firearms ban

In?

Will guarantee my safety? lol

IANAL BYA

Edit: Not a current student. Why does it need to be a student?

(Northampton County)

Quote Originally Posted by BimmerJon View Post
    Why does it need to be a student?
    You have to be a student to have what we legal weenies call "standing" to sue. Standing just means that the wrong you are claiming actually hurts you.

In this planned case I would prefer you be either a current student or a prospective student. The rule I am challenging is in the student handbook

"Possession or use on College property or at College-sponsored or supervised functions of any firearm, gun, knife...except as expressly permitted in writting by the President or his designee"

Sorry Northampton County Community College, you can't make that rule and your President does not decide who can carry a firearm within the Commonwealth.

There are possibly other rules in community colleges that prohibit employees, faculty members, etc. from carrying and those would be invalid as well. I would be equally willing to accept that case.

(Dauphin County)

Have you perused the other threads on here where we've tried to ascertain the nature of a community college's power as to see whether they really are in violation of § 6120?