is it worth the SIG price?
    or is this a marketing gimmick?

Default Re: SIG p239

Quote Originally Posted by ENGINEER View Post
    Has anybody had the chance to check out the SIG p239
    i understand there is no safety?
    is it worth the SIG price?
    or is this a marketing gimmick?
    The gun has been out awhile. A Sig is a Sig and I haven't heard anybody complain about the 239. It tends to eat any kind of ammo you feed it. None of the Sigs have safeties (save the 1911 platform guns or a few SAO models). If you get a DA/SA model it will have a decocker. The DAO and DAK guns don't have anything but a long and somewhat heavy trigger pull to prevent a ND. IMO, the brain is the number one safety so no safety is in no way a turn off for me. In fact, I tend to see it as a positive.

Very few people are unhappy with Sigs. In fact, many people claim you can't have just one. I've had a 229 for the past 3 years and am FINALLY adding another Sig to the stable .
    I am not a lawyer and nothing I say should be construed as legal advice.

I own a P239 in .40S&W. It's one of the nicest shooting .40's I've ever shot or owned. More accurate than I am and overall just a great gun. I paid a little under $500 for mine used and it's worth every penny.

And on the subject of owning more than one Sig, I bought mine because my wife bought a P226 and I couldn't resist adding another to our collection. I'm far from finished. All it would take is for the right P220 or P245 to come along and I might not be able to restrain myself...

(Washington County)

Sigs aren't cheap but they are simply fine guns.

Alright, I know DA/SA and DAO but what the heck is DAK exactly? I've got a DA/SA 226, a DAO 250 and the C3 compact 1911 (SA only of course). So what does Sig mean by DAK and what makes it different from DAO?

(Butler County)