Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (York County)

Default Another reason to carry

Interesting link on CNN today,

http://www.cnn.com/2010/TECH/mobile/...ex.html?hpt=C2

From a cell phone it's taking even longer for emergency responses to figure out where you are when placing a 911 call. This further reinforces the fact that a 911 call by itself is not sufficient for your personal safety, and that you really do need to have your own personal security when seconds can be the difference between life and death. You can't just rely on your new iPhone to save your life in an emergency!

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: Another reason to carry

As a communications engineer, I can tell you 911 calls from a cell phone are worthless unless you as the caller can give a detailed description of the location so that they can find you. Landlines are tied to a fixed service address, cell phones are tied to your billing address - which you can be on the other side of the planet using it. Then it takes time to access and GPS coordinates(if the phone can beacon 3 birds), or to triangulate with 3 cell towers.

So, if you're in a wreck and rely on a cell phone, and cannot give directions - you're F'd.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

Quote Originally Posted by knight0334 View Post
    As a communications engineer, I can tell you 911 calls from a cell phone are worthless unless you as the caller can give a detailed description of the location so that they can find you. Landlines are tied to a fixed service address, cell phones are tied to your billing address - which you can be on the other side of the planet using it. Then it takes time to access and GPS coordinates(if the phone can beacon 3 birds), or to triangulate with 3 cell towers.