Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Monroe County)

Question Getting used to OC...

Hi all,
    Thanks to all for writing here... love this place.

I started shooting about 6 months ago. As soon as I got my cc permit I started (most of the time) cc'ing. I am experimenting with OC and find that it takes getting used to. I feel like I am... naked... exposed... imposing on others... calling attention to myself....

Did you all go through this? how did you deal?

Also: I see mentioned in several threads a pamphlet about OC that some of you carry to give to others. Where is this pamphlet to be found?

Thanks.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Getting used to OC...

If you go to the top of the OC Forum and look at the stickied thread http://forum.pafoa.org/open-carry-14...re-you-do.html and look at item three on the list near the top you will find this link:

http://paopencarry.org/pdfs/Pennsylvania_Gun_Rights.pdf
    FNX-9 Two-tone

(Monroe County)

The Flyer can be found here: http://paopencarry.org/pdfs/Pennsylvania_Gun_Rights.pdf

also, read this thread...about a million times: http://forum.pafoa.org/open-carry-14...re-you-do.html

basically, the trick to OC is the same as the trick to CC: don't focus on the gun. Most people don't notice (or pretend not to, same difference to you), and the ones that do are usually polite.

If it helps, i actually feel slightly dishonest on the occasions i CC, because i feel like i'm hiding things from people.

ETA: falcn beat me to it.

Also, seeing as you're in tobyhanna, keep an eye out for me
    ONE TO THE HEAD!!!!

(Monroe County)

It's definately a liberating experience. There is a sense of being vulnerable, and exposed. Which stems from knowing that you've allowed everyone in your presence to see that you are armed, nothing more, nothing less. Much like how you felt when you started CC'ing, eventually it will feel as normal as putting your pants on each morning.