Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 59 123451151 ... LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default One in the Chamber

I have recently been debating whether or not to carry with a round in the chamber. I did not keep one in the chamber with the last gun I owned (Smith and Wesson) with no safety, and I was confident in drawing and chambering a round quickly. But the new gun (Para 1911) has a thumb safety and a grip safety and I feel it would take too much time to disengage the thumb safe chamber and aim/shoot.
    So, what are the thoughts on carrying with a round in the chamber?

Default Re: One in the Chamber

Well over 95% of the people that answer you on this forum will say they ALWAYS carry with one in the chamber.

You're just carrying a heavy paper weight if you don't. Carry one in the chamber and keep it cocked and locked.
    I am not a lawyer and nothing I say should be construed as legal advice.

(Armstrong County)

Quote Originally Posted by JST View Post
    I have recently been debating whether or not to carry with a round in the chamber. I did not keep one in the chamber with the last gun I owned (Smith and Wesson) with no safety, and I was confident in drawing and chambering a round quickly. But the new gun (Para 1911) has a thumb safety and a grip safety and I feel it would take too much time to disengage the thumb safe chamber and aim/shoot.

You can't engage the thumb safety without the hammer being cocked anyways Unless you prefer to carry cocked and locked without anything in the chamber. I'd carry +1, whenever you need it in a self defense situation youre gonna need it fast.

(Allegheny County)

Quote Originally Posted by JST View Post
    No problem with a quality holster. I always carry +1 on all my guns.
    FNX-9 Two-tone

(Chester County)

There are tons of threads here about carrying with one in the chamber. More than you care to read...

(I always have one in the pipe, just for the record )

(Pike County)