Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Hunting York County?

anyone ever hunt on these sgl's, 242, 243 and 83? Its my first year hunting and I was going to get out there when small game starts to "poke" around a bit with some friends that have been hunting for years, and when I find someone that deer hunts id like to try my hand at that as well.

So, is hunting in these areas good? Any other recommendations in the York area?
    Last edited by mike_yorkPA; August 16th, 2010 at 07:45 PM.

(York County)

Smile Re: Hunting York County?

I've hunted 242 for deer a couple of times, never small game. I hunted 243 for sm game and doves. No luck on small game modest luck with doves. Never hunted 83.

Default Re: Hunting York County?

Quote Originally Posted by geoman458 View Post
    I've hunted 242 for deer a couple of times, never small game. I hunted 243 for sm game and doves. No luck on small game modest luck with doves. Never hunted 83.
    so how was deer at 242? im hoping to get my buddy to go for deer with me so i know what to do, especially the field dress. Also do you cut your own deer up? If not where do you take it and whats the average cost of getting it all done

(Somerset County)

Dig around on the web, there are videos about gutting and butchering. I think the PGC has one.

Cost for butchering will depend on where you have it done and what you have done. Probably anywhere between $40-$100+

Dale

ok so not the couple hundred i thought it might be

PRMD,just a hair south of PA at York co, Maryland