Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Lehigh County)

Default What if scenario

I've often thought about what would be to proper course of action to take. I ask it now because I believe that it is better to have a well-thought out plan ahead of time that was put together with rational thought under calm and logical conditions rather than emotionally deciding on a course of action in the heat of the momemt in a matter of seconds. I welcome tactical, moral and legal opinions.

I work in retail. The neighborhood is starting to go down hill as evident by an increase in shoplifting. Suppose I walk out of the back room one day and see a robber pointing a gun at one of the cashiers.
    #1) I have no interest in saving the place money because the place is insured against that type of stuff.

#2) I am not interested in being a hero because I am too old to be playing 'cops & robbers'

#3) My main concern is for the safety of my fellow employees especially the ones that have a gun pointed at them.
    If you came out of the back room and were armed and saw a robbery happening, given the three things that I mentioned above (#1-#3), what course of action would you take, taking into consideration the tactical, moral and legal issues?

Sorry if this is in the incorrect forum but I wasn't sure where to put it. Thanks in advance for any and all comments and suggestions.

Default Re: What if scenario

Your three points are good, except that none of us should be playing cops and robbers. If he's going to grab the money and run (probably), call 911 if possible and focus on being an exceptional witness. I possible be ready to engage if things go south.

If the BG becomes very agitated or there are signs that his intent is more sinister (like leaving no witnesses) then try to maneuver into a position to engage. Does he know you're there? Does he know you're armed? Is he alone? Lots of possibilities that you won't be able to think through ahead of time.