Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default How can I do this legally?

Hey folks...I recently discovered this forum by chance...it looks like a real gem...Semper Fi!

On to business...I am a Texan, who lives in NYC. I own property in PA and spend probably about 2 to 3 months out of the year at my PA home.

Now, I do not have a NYC pistol permit. However, I own several handguns that are currently being held by my brother who still lives in Texas and I'd seriously like to rescue them by having him ship them to me in PA. I have both Texas and Florida State non-resident CCW permits and its my belief that these permits are reciprocal in PA (yes, I know there is a lot of debate on this issue, but I'm a lawyer and willing to fight for it if push comes to shove). I have a NY drivers license and this has been the thorn in my side...

So far, I have been unable to find a legal way to transfer or purchase a handgun in the state of PA...I've had no problems with long arms, but hand guns have been a no go.

Is there anybody out there who has any knowledge, advice, or suggestions on how I can legally obtain a handgun in the state of PA? The easy answer is to get a PA license, but I would have to surrender my NY license and then I'd be committing insurance fraud.

Thanks advance!
    de.ci.sive.ness\ n. 1. Ability to make decisions promptly and to announce them in clear, forceful manner. 2. See United States Marine.

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: How can I do this legally?

Just load them up in a case(empty) in TX and drive to PA and leave them at your PA residence.

Or you can go to TX, package them up and ship them to yourself in PA via common carrier(UPS, FEDEX). They will have to go overnight though due to both carrier's policies.

...that is if you still own the guns. If you gave or sold them to your brother, it becomes an interstate transfer which a FFL would have to be in the loop.

No other problems about bringing YOUR firearms into PA.