Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Dauphin County)

Default Conclusion: It's about the bang

I'll share some perspective here and welcome others' comments, input. I'm not an expert as you'll see, but we all have to know what we know, you know?

I’ve been shooting about 4 years or so. My focus is self-defense/handguns (as opposed to hunting, target shooting, rifles, etc.). I have several handguns and rifles and I enjoy shooting them all. I set my guns up for their primary purpose: carry guns get certain ammo and practice, rifles are sighted for certain distances only, shotgun has HD ammo, etc. I practice as I normally plan to shoot the gun.

Ammo and size of gun for self-defense is a bird’s nest of opinion. What size gun for carry? How many rounds? What type ammo? What brand ammo? Everyone has a source they reference when answering the question and I can find in 5 minutes sources to prove any point I wish to make or take.

I also read many posts on what to carry. You need “knock-down” power. You need to hit a vital/motor organ to stop someone cold. You need to be able to hit multiple taps COM as fast as possible………. The list goes on. One reads about carry ammo. I can buy JHP 9MM for $0.40 per shot up to $1.00 a shot or more. Both go bang. Both work in my gun. So what difference does it make?

When I read ballistic reports, and look at gel tests it is interesting. When the same people showing me these reports are trying to prove points – yet carry a 380, or even a 32 or 22 as their carry weapon – this doesn’t make sense. If it were all about stopping power, wouldn’t everyone carry the “best” ammo, in a 45? Or perhaps it’s about being able to handle the gun at all – not all of us can handle an angry 45, or are big enough to conceal one.

So what is one to think? Here’s what I think.

It doesn’t matter. My coaching to a new shooter/self-protection kinda guy/gal is this:

1. Practice with your choice no matter what it is.