Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Short action vs long action Remington 700

Hello, I have a remington model 700 in 270 that has a normal stock. I am wanting to purchase a youth stock so my girls can shoot my rifle without me buying a new gun. I know I am cheap, but can't afford a new rifle right now. My question is, will a short action youth stock from a 308 fit my barrel? Please help. Thanks, Loren

(York County)

Default Re: Short action vs long action Remington 700

No I don't think that is going to work, the recoil lug on your 270 is going to be in a different place in relation to the bolt handle cutout in the stock vs the short action 308. Not to mention the action screw holes wont line up. If you had a 270 WSM, then it would work. I am not an expert and I may be wrong though.

You could always get another 270 beater stock and cut it down to size.
    The smallest minority on earth is the individual. Those who deny individual rights cannot claim to be defenders of minorities.
    Ayn Rand

(Allegheny County)

The .308 is short action, can't remember but I think .270 might be long action.
    Quote Originally Posted by GunLawyer001 View Post
    If the police could confiscate all of your guns and ammo using just one van, then you didn't own enough guns or ammo.
    WTB - NDS3 or NDS1 receiver FTF

Quote Originally Posted by mojo View Post
    The .308 is short action, can't remember but I think .270 might be long action.
    It's definitely a long action. The .270 is the .30-06 necked down to .277.
    Je suis Charles Martel.

(Berks County)

As was mentioned,....No.

Basically, the long and short actions have different receiver lengths and thus neither will fit the stock for the other action size. For the Remington 700 series, measure the screw holes on the bottom. Long action = 7 3/8", Short action = 6 1/2".