Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    Hokkmike Guest

Default Will too much CLP hurt perfomance?

Will too much CLP hurt perfomance?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Took my P225 out to the "pit". Had a great time. Most cartridges ejected to the right and up. A few went straight up and I had one or two cycling problems. My friend with his Ruger P-94 (never flinched) said that he thought the problem could be due to excessive application of CLP.

Without worrying about diagnosing any problems what are your thoughts or past experiences with the effects of too much CLP or any other lubricant on the performance of auto pistols?

Thank you, and have a great week this week!

(Venango County)

Default Re: Will too much CLP hurt perfomance?

I am no expert but I would guess it depends on the pistol....Everyone I talk to says it will degrade the performance of a Glock...not sure about your gun, though.....

I'm sure someone else with a better grip(Pun Intended ) on this will help you out shortly

Glock Pistols.......So simple a Caveman could fix them!

(Chester County)

Too much? Too much of any oil will eventually lead to built up crud and crap in your gun. That's not really an oil problem so much as it is a "you aren't cleaning your gun enough" problem. It's not the oil that seizes up the gun, or causes extraction/ejection problems, it's all the crap that sticks in the oil. So long as you clean the powder residue, dust bunnies, and copper/lead out of the mechanism, your gun will function perfectly even if absolutely swimming in oil.