Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Lehigh County)

Default Twist rate question, 1/7 or 1/9

I am almost done with a new AR i am putting together, got everything except the barrel and handguard. So i started looking into barrels and i am going with a 16" m4. I can get the exact same barrel (5.56) in either 1/7 or 1/9 twist. Is there a big difference between the two? My 20" is a 1/9, so that 's what i was thinking of staying with but now it got me wondering.

On another note: I am also looking at midwest ind. aluminum quad rail guards. woulld these get too hot in rapid fire situations?
    thanks
    Last edited by tonyfac; July 1st, 2010 at 07:13 PM.

Default Re: Twist rate question, 1/7 or 1/9

I am not an expert. I have a 1/7 in my AR and it is fine w/ 55gr.
    The 1/7 allows you to take advantage of all the heavier bullets that are coming out. I just read another good study regarding the effectiveness of these rounds ("---Duty Ammo --- from another froum). In the future I plan on buying 90% 62gr. or better. I also believe that all the new Carbines Sped'd for the services are to be 1/7's so you know where the ammo world will be migrating towards.

(Perry County)

For varmint hunting one might want a light 30-50 gr bullet as the speed will let it shoot flatter at moderate distance 200-400yds?). If you have an AR it probably doesn't much matter as the typical 50-69 gr bullets generally shot in ARs work very well with both 1-9 & 1-7.
    If you have a tactical rifle that you want to go really long range with then by all means get the 1-7 as you will be using bullets in the 69-80 gr range.

(Allegheny County)

Quote Originally Posted by tonyfac View Post