Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 15 1234511 ... LastLast
    (Schuylkill County)

Default being denied to carry because of references??

hello im new to Schuylkill and had applied to the local sheriff department for a ltcf and they returned the app saying i need to provide references from Schuylkill co.?? but i have been told any references are acceptable and they don't even have to contact the references to issue a permit. i don't know anyone from here and i'm single so i cant use a wife or girl friend at this time.
    i've even tried to contact the sheriffs dept. any advice would be much appreciated...

thanks ED

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: being denied to carry because of references??

The statute does not dictate that the references be residents of the Commonwealth let alone the county in which your are applying for a License to Carry Firearms. I would just list two references and submit your application. If the sheriff refuses to accept your application then file a pro se writ of mandamus or pro se law suit.

FYI: As others will be more brash. PA does not issue a permit to carry.

It is a License to Carry Firearms (LTCF)

As already noted there is nothing in the UFA that requires county specific
    references.

Your right to protect yourself cannot be denied because you just moved.
    I would send them a certified letter explaining this. If you get no results contact an attorney and have him/her contact the sheriff's office. Something tells me that would yield results.

Please don't back down on this. Too many people do. Hold the sheriff's feet to the fire on this, and when you are successful do your best to get them to stop this illegal and unconstitutional practice.

You could also try to pm Gunlawyer001 I’m sure he will have good advise.

http://forum.pafoa.org/members/gunlawyer001/
    FUCK BIDEN

Quote Originally Posted by edv177 View Post