Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Borrowed firearm to OC?

Hey,
    I am a NJ resident and FL concealed weapons license holder. I know that I dont need anything like that to OC but figgured ide throw that in there. My friend, whom has no pistols yet but is not a prohibited persons, would like to OC with me sometime to cabelas & such (figgure its a hassle free place). Could I legally bring along another pistol for him to carry?

Default Re: Borrowed firearm to OC?

Quote Originally Posted by Glennp View Post
    Hey,
    I am a NJ resident and FL concealed weapons license holder. I know that I dont need anything like that to OC but figgured ide throw that in there. My friend, whom has no pistols yet but is not a prohibited persons, would like to OC with me sometime to cabelas & such (figgure its a hassle free place). Could I legally bring along another pistol for him to carry?
    I may be wrong, but I seem to recall that the recipient of a loaned firearm needs to have a LTCF. YOU could get in trouble for loaning it to someone who doesn't have the LTCF.

(please feel free to blast me if I am incorrect)

mingomom is correct. You cannot lend a firearm to someone without a LTCF. If you do and get caught, YOU will be the one who gets in trouble. Can't remember the exact post, but GunLawyer explained it all in detail. Once your friend gets a LTCF, feel free to lend him your gun, but tell him he should get his own

(York County)

You guys are missing the fact that the OPs friend wants to OC, which does not require an LTCF. So provided his friend doesn't travel in the car whille carrying and stays out of Philly, he would be ok.

IANAL!

Edit:I spoke way too soon, I am just going to retract my statement because I am not sure if loaning a firearm is only related to concealed carry, or if the LTCF requirement mean simply possessing another persons firearm.
    Last edited by YBNORMAL; June 29th, 2010 at 09:52 AM.