Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default New PA Resident - Can You Help?

Howdy, folks. I'm a NJ refugee - just moved into Pike County (Milford) from NJ to escape the "reasonable" gun laws there. I'm wondering if any of you can point me to an FAQ or link a couple threads that talk about what I should expect and what I have to watch out for now that I'm a PA resident. IOW, the "Reader's Digest" version of the everyday laws we need to be aware of to avoid the 'gotcha' scenarios that overzealous local prosecutors live for.

Thanks!

(Beaver County)

Default Re: New PA Resident - Can You Help?

(Tioga County)

I guess a couple of things you might want to know right off. If your bringing guns here from PRNJ you don't need to register them. If you want to buy a gun. As long as your not a prohibited person and already have your PA drivers license. Just go to your local gun store and buy it. you should be out the door with your new gun in less than an hour. More than likely less than a half hour. No wait period, no permission card from the state. Just don't load it up for the trip home. After you get your LTCF it's a different ball game.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovert View Post
    Howdy, folks. I'm a NJ refugee - just moved into Pike County (Milford) from NJ to escape the "reasonable" gun laws there. I'm wondering if any of you can point me to an FAQ or link a couple threads that talk about what I should expect and what I have to watch out for now that I'm a PA resident. IOW, the "Reader's Digest" version of the everyday laws we need to be aware of to avoid the 'gotcha' scenarios that overzealous local prosecutors live for.

Thanks!
    USNRET '61-'81

Should you ever come south of the border into Delaware you have the right to open carry. There are a few thing you'll need to research before you do it though.

http://delawareopencarry.org/forums/...11612fec0d85c1

http://delawareopencarry.org/forums/...34063d2a63b6fe

(Chester County)