Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default question re selling M1911 target gun

Hi everyone . I’m new to PAFAO and am writng this to get some advice on selling a pistol .
    In 1990 I (a complete novice) thought I’d try target shooting and had a 1911 type target 45 built by a gunsmith in eastern PA – forget exactly where he was located- I live in New Jersey . When I got it I fired it once (15 rounds target loads) and then put it away in storage for 20 years – never fired it since
    Since I’m not into the “ gun scene” I thought I could use some advice in how to market/sell this gun.. I know if I took it to a gun shop they wouldn’t give me half of what it’s worth so I haven’t even bothered to try this route.
    Except for the grips the gun is a real “Ugly Betty” on the outside. For some reason the gunsmith had it blued a kind of a deep plum brown color especially pronounced on the slide , and also put his “mark” prominently on the right side of the slide. It has a Caspian Arms frame , the barrel is stamped “KART45 cal” and the sights are “BOMAR” . The grips are a nice two tone wood but the rest of the gun seems pretty plain jane. It is however essentially new and almost unfired.
    The real workmanship is inside where everything was done to make it as accurate as possible . When I got it I was told by the smith that even for a good barrel it really grouped well so I think he really put his heart into it . It was probably test fired by him more than I fired it it. He was probably a better shot than me too! I’m sure he’s retired or passed on by now .