Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Finally Pulling the Trigger On My First AR Build

Well, over the past few months I have had several threads posted with questions gathering information for my first AR-15 build. I've decided to finally pull the trigger on getting this build underway. I've decided that I'm going to go with one of the Del-Ton kits, as I'm a college student and don't have a ton of extra cash to throw into this build, especially considering I plan on studying abroad next spring...gotta have some money to blow in Australia Here are the options I'm thinking of going with, I'd love some input as to if these components will be adequate for my purposes (hunting varmints/coyotes, target shooting, plinking).

-Del-Ton 20" Rifle Kit
    -20" DTI lightweight barrel (non-chrome lined, 1x9 twist)
    -Standard gas tube
    -Standard handguards
    -Standard (non-chrome) bolt and carrier
    -A2 buttstock
    -A2 grip
    -Detachable carry handle
    -Phantom aggressive comp/brake
    -Standard A2 front sight (but no bayonet lug)
    -Lower parts kit with RRA 2 stage trigger
    -Standard charging handle
    -Flat top upper with M4 feed ramps

Keep in mind that I live in NY, hence the Phantom comp/brake instead of a flash hider, a bayonet lug-less FSB, and a non-collapsible stock. Is the Phantom comp/brake a decent thing to have, or would I be better off getting the rifle without a flash hider or brake and adding a different one and getting it pinned/welded? Thanks for your input, I can't wait to finally get this build underway!

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Finally Pulling the Trigger On My First AR Build

I'm not a big fan of delton
    I'm not a big fan of non chrome lined.
    I'm not a big fan of 1/9 twist.
    I'm not a big fan of 2 stage triggers.

Other than that.....

Good luck with your build. It is not what I would build but it's you who needs to be happy with it.