Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Dauphin County)

Default Question on Interstate C&R FTF Transfer

Hoping someone on here can clear up the mud for me. I am a PA resident currently holding a C&R license. I am trying to determine if I can legally transfer a C&R firearm to my non-licensed father who resides in FL. This transfer would take place on my premises.

This transaction appears to be legal according to 27 CFR 478.96 (c)(1) by simply logging the transaction in my bound book but I am uncertain about state laws that may be involved.

Would appreciate some advice from anyone experienced in interstate C&R transfers, particularly to Florida.

(York County)

Default Re: Question on Interstate C&R FTF Transfer

I believe it will have to go through a FFL in FL. Because your father does not have a C&R.

(Dauphin County)

Quote Originally Posted by algoesfast View Post
    I believe it will have to go through a FFL in FL. Because your father does not have a C&R.
    Yeah, that's kind of what I'm thinking. Everything would be a lot simpler and clearer if he had the C&R on his end of the deal.

(Lackawanna County)

Is the gun a gift? Would the transfer be done here in PA?

Keep in mind that there is a parent to child, and vice versa, exception in the transfer law in PA.

You would still need to record the disposition in your bound book, because it is leaving your collection.

I don't believe FL has a registration process, but if they do, a simple receipt should verify the transfer...but YOU should verify the laws, IANAL.
    "...a REPUBLIC, if you can keep it."

(Jefferson County)

Quote Originally Posted by wa3ra View Post
    Is the gun a gift? Would the transfer be done here in PA?

Keep in mind that there is a parent to child, and vice versa, exception in the transfer law in PA.

You would still need to record the disposition in your bound book, because it is leaving your collection.