Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default First time Shotgun buyer...need some suggestions

Hey all, I'm new to the shotgun world. I was just at my local gun shop today and I have been really wanting a shotgun for home defense for a while. They had a Maverick 88 12ga for $285 with 2 boxes of ammo out the door price. I was also told it WAS a Mossberg 500, now I know it is not. Is this a good price or can I find it cheaper ??? It is brand new, holds 8 rounds +1 in the barrel, sporter stock comes installed with an optional pistol grip (no stock) that I can replace the sporter stock with, just has a bead sight and IIRC a 20" barrel although it could have been an 18" barrel, not 100% on this. I really like the after-market folding stock with pistol grip but don't know how good they are or if they're reliable and durable.

Also is this a good, reliable, durable shotgun ?? From my understand it is still made by Mossberg...as a less expensive alternative, is that correct ?? Also does that mean it would pass the same US Army test that the actual Mossberg 500 was the only one to pass ??

I don't know much about shotguns at all. I know of the Remington 870, Mossburg 500 and 590 but that's about it, and I don't know anything really about them or what's best for what scenario.

Any and all help is MUCH appreciated, I asked if the deal for $285 with 2 boxes of ammo out the door price could be held until this Tuesday, they said ok so I have until Tuesday to figure this out. Thanks in advance.

P.S. I COULD also have the option of possibly buying a SPAS-12 shotgun from a friends dad. IF he is willing to part with it the price would be like $600, is this better ??