Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Holster Q

Pinhead Guest

Default Holster Q

I carry IWB, always up front (just to the right side of my belly-button) (I'm skinny and it's the only way that works (concealed)). I've always used holsters with the metal belt clip and a thumb break.

Just bought a glock 26 and have my eye on the bianchi IWB. It has the metal clip but no thumb break. I'm leery of that. Just how securely will it hold my gun?

Thx in advance.

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Holster Q

Quote Originally Posted by Pinhead View Post
    I carry IWB, always up front (just to the right side of my belly-button) (I'm skinny and it's the only way that works (concealed)). I've always used holsters with the metal belt clip and a thumb break.

Just bought a glock 26 and have my eye on the bianchi IWB. It has the metal clip but no thumb break. I'm leery of that. Just how securely will it hold my gun?

Thx in advance.
    I have no experience with the Bianchi IWB, but I will always carry in a holster with a thumb break or some type of retention. I had an incident where I lost my brand new Glock 29 at the bottom of a creek three days after I bought it. I ended up diving 10' into the bottom of the pool I was fishing in and retrieving my pistol.

I really like the Ted Blocker ST-17 IWB. It has a wide belt clip that will keep the holster where you put it. I've tried some other IWB holsters with a narrower belt clip and I've had them pop out on me. Not good when you're sitting at a restaurant eating dinner and your gun and holster fall out onto the floor.

It all boils down to personal preference. I personally do not like thumb breaks on my holsters. It gets in the way of a fast draw and I don't find thumb breaks to be useful. Most of my holsters are custom fit for my pistols, so I don't worry about them falling out. I have yet to have a pistol slide out of the holster while I was carrying the weapon.