Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default What to do about hoplophobic family?

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to firearm ownership. I purchased my first firearm within the last 6 months. Currently my wife and I own 5. 2 Mosin Nagants and 3 handguns (.357 Magnum, 7.62 Tokarev, and 22LR).

All of my family, and all of my in-laws live in NJ (or Manhatten) and have varying degrees of hoplophobia. My wife is so conscious of it that the only firearms she lets my in-laws be aware of are my Mosin Nagants. She says her mother would freak out if she knew about our .357 or the TT33. Heck, she didn't even want to let them know about the 22LR.

My family is far worse. I don't let them know about ANYTHING. My mother lives in Bergen County. My brother lives in Manhatten. I have an aunt that is always volunteering on campaigns for Democrats. They're all raging liberals.

I don't want to alienate my family, but it's extremely frustrating having to hide something from them that is legal, safe, and one of the fundamental rights granted to us by the US Constitution.

Have any of you experienced anything similar? How do you guys deal with it? Is there any way to bring them around?

I was thinking about seeing if I could bring my father-in-law to Firing Line or something, maybe get him hooked on target shooting. Shooting is a big part of my wife's and my life now. We go up to Ontelaunee at least once a week for Thursday gun practice. I go Saturdays or Sundays too to shoot my Mosins, and when the weather gets better my wife will be coming along too.

I hate having to keep something so important to my wife and I secret from our families.

(Schuylkill County)

Default Re: What to do about hoplophobic family?

Very slippery slope indeed. I can't speak from experience, since I've been lucky enough to never be put in the situation.