Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Smile 1st time shooting w/my daughter!

Since I started shooting (again) a few months back one of my daughters has developed an interest in joining me. Seems her new beau is a gun nut as is one of her coworkers. She is 27 and has lived on her own for years and we get together infrequently due to our conflicting schedules.

After a recent discussion she said she'd love to try it. I told her to learn at least the basic concepts at corneredcat.com and genitron.com

We met at Classic Pistol and I went over the safety basics again, showed her the difference between a revolver and a semi-auto and set her up with a silhouette at 5yds.

She took the Ruger MKIII (semi auto.22) and put a bunch of holes in the paper, the worst were in the 8 ring! She didn't think she was doing well so I told her to look at the targets hanging in the other lanes. She was just as good as them, and usually better!

Soon she was loading the magazines, working the slide and safety without thinking about it, tweaking her grip and stance, speculating how she could improve, etc. Over-analyzing like the good little scientist she is!

We stuck with the .22 at increasing distance and she just boggled my mind with how quickly she caught on! She did the same at 7, 10 and 15 yards! Nothing less than an 8 except for the occasional flyer. (Sure, make the old man look bad! You just wait 'til I get that cataract fixed honey!)

She kept going until we used up 100 .22s so I said how about some .38s? Without hesitating she said "sure, why not?" So she punched a bunch of holes in the paper with the 4" barrel GP100 and then tried the Taurus snubby too. She liked the revolver grips better than the semis, by the way.

Finally, just before we were ready to call it a day, I said I wanted to shoot a few with my new .45. So she says, you guessed it, "let me try that one too dad!"