Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: 308 or 309

(Westmoreland County)

Default 308 or 309

I have been casting pistol bullets and reloading, for over 30 years, but now I am going to take the plunge into rifle casting, thanks to the Obama Administration and the lack of in stock bullets, My question is. I am looking at the Lyman 311291 mold for 30 30 –308 – 3006 . This is a gas check mold. Will I need to slug all three barrels. can I go with the .309 seizer.or being gas checked should they be .308 these will be used in bolt and lever action rifles. thanks for any help in advance

(Northampton County)

Default Re: 308 or 309

You won't need to but you should. I size to .309 for all three.
    ““Liberty is the right to choose. Freedom is the result of the right choice.””

-Anonymous

Jeff

(Allegheny County)

I can't help with your question but I'd like to pass along my experience in casting rifle bullets. Like you, I had cast pistol bullets sucessfully for many years. I got a 7mm mold to cast for my Thompson/Contender. I found that rifle bullet molds are sized for a different alloy than pistol bullet molds.....I found that when using straight wheelweights, the bullets came out of the mold undersized. When i ran them through the .284 sizer, you could see that the bullets didn't contact the sizer around the whole circumference of the bullet...parts of the bullet were untouched. Accuracy sucked! Rather than trying to find a steady source of linotype, or mixing my own alloys, I gave up and went back to buying jacketed bullets for that caliber.
    There are three kinds of people in this world....them what's good at math and them what ain't.

(Westmoreland County)