Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Delaware County)

Default OK 1911 guys, need some "break-in" help.

Hey Guys,
    I am a complete 1911 newbie and need some advice/assurance to ease my mind. My Dad (not only a 1911 newb, but a total gun newb) picked up a Kimber Warrior last week for home defense and some carry. I have been doing the breaking in with him thus far. Here is how its been:

-Brought the gun home, disassembled, cleaned, and lubed.
    -Took to range and put about 150 through it, had 4-5 FTFeeds. Using WWB and occuring with both Kimber mag and Wilson mag, rounds would hang up on ramp I guess and gun would lock approx. 1/2"-3/4" out of battery.
    - Took her apart, cleaned it again very well and lubed again, according to manufacture specs. etc.
    -Went out again today and had about the same amount of the same kind of failures in 100 rounds.

My observances are that it happens to both of us, so its not limpwristing. Also, not everytime but probably 4 out of 5 times it was the last round in the mag, and it did occur with both mags.

After shooting my Glocks, my old man is worried. It is my opinion that it is an extremely tight gun and still too early in the process to begin worrying. If it still happens after 400-500 then we may have an issue. Am I correct in this assumption, and is their any other ideas/remedies you guys with more experience may be able to offer me. Thanks a lot!!
    Saint Michael the Archangel, defend us in battle. Amen. **PROUD III**

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: OK 1911 guys, need some "break-in" help.

What mags are you using? I have a Kimber and the mag that came with it was shit. It's in a landfill now. Before you freak out, pick up some quality magazines.

(Monroe County)

Try another brand of ammo, maybe THAT gun doesnt like wwb, i think its the ammo.

1911's in general can be picky about ammo.
    Let us know how it goes.

Nyman

(Westmoreland County)