Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ruger Mini 14

(Bucks County)

Default Ruger Mini 14

Hey Guys,

I know you can use the .223 and 5.56 with these, but heres a silly question since I have no experience. Are these anyway comparable to say an AR, M4, or an Ak because the seem to be much cheaper then the other 3. The only real differnece I noticed was the mag size. So would these be usable at all as SHTF gun or no?Thanks in advance!
    "

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Ruger Mini 14

All the research I've done has led me to believe that they are very comparable. The usual biggest complaint with the Mini 14 is the accuracy. This has been fixed a great deal in recent years with a new design (thicker barrel), and generally the Mini-14's come out of the box and have 4" groupings - still pretty darn bad compared to say an AR-15. However, a $30 piece of equipment, a muzzle break, will cut this down to about 2" or so. Adding a strut, which is about a $30 upgrade, easy to do yourself, will get it down even less.

Really, with the new NRA mini 14 option, plus the above improvements, you can easily have a 1" grouping gun (several people have been able to do even better than 1" at 100 yards), for a lot less money than an AR-15.

You do have to consider, however, the cost of mags, as well as the ability to accessorize, both of which are better with the AR-15.

I don't think the NRA mini 14 with the above upgrades is better than an AR-15 or an AK-47, but it is very comparable, and I don't think that you could go wrong with any of these guns.

(Alternatively, getting the standard Mini 14 and cutting the barrel down to 16.5 inches is an option, if you don't like the NRA version - it's more costly that way, though.

Here's a thread on improving the accuracy of the Mini 14

And this is regarding the strut I mentioned, which that thread doesn't mention, this was done not on the NRA version, either, so it'd be better on that