Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Luzerne County)

Default Never understood the bullet sizing thing...

Tried wiki first, still not getting it.

I would think that say, as far as handguns go anyway, that the calibers would go up in increasing size.

etc

However, I went and fired my 357 for the first time yesterday, and that put a little sting on using 357 mags.

Now my 9mm and 38 (fired from the 357) were just a little twitch coming from the gun. So why, at least to the 38, is a smaller number [357] 100 times the oomphhh?

Again, like in Dirty Harry. He tells Mr Badguy that the 44magnum is the most powerful handgun in the world. But a .45 and .50 are both "bigger". So what gives. What exactly do those numbers mean, and why would a little number have infinite recoil over a bigger number?

And yes, I'm a 3 month firearm newb...

Default Re: Never understood the bullet sizing thing...

You have to figure in the powder charge behind the bullet, lenght of barrel and all that affect the 'power' of a shot

a .45 acp has less of a powder charge than a .44 mag but yet a .223 has more 'power' than both due to the powder charge behind the bullet even though it's less than half the size of either.

Powder = Power, not bullet size
    Honesta Mors Turpi Vita Potior ~ 3%

(Tioga County)

lets confuse things a bit. th e.357 and 39spl both fire the same diameter bullet. the difference is the 357 case is bigger and holds more powder. guns designed for the 357 can handle more pressure. the 38 spl need to be safe in any gun chambered for it. this includes pistols made a century ago. as others have said it more about how hard your pushing the bullet and the weight of the bullet than it is the bullet diameter.

Quote Originally Posted by CarolinaGuy View Post
    Tried wiki first, still not getting it.

I would think that say, as far as handguns go anyway, that the calibers would go up in increasing size.

etc