Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Can I move to New York and keep guns in P.A.?

I'm currently a resident of Pennsylvania and bought all my guns as a resident.

I'll be moving to New York shortly and becoming a NY resident. Is it legal for me to own guns that I leave in Pennsylvania even if I'm not a resident of P.A.?

Thanks in advance.

(Chester County)

Default Re: Can I move to New York and keep guns in P.A.?

Quote Originally Posted by 6.8Shooter View Post
    I'm currently a resident of Pennsylvania and bought all my guns as a resident.

I'll be moving to New York shortly and becoming a NY resident. Is it legal for me to own guns that I leave in Pennsylvania even if I'm not a resident of P.A.?

Thanks in advance.
    Where/with whom are you storing them in Pa? Do they include handguns?
    IANAL

(Monroe County)

Out of the Philly frying pan and into the fire huh? I guess it all depends on where in NY you're moving. If it's outside the city I would just say take them with you, from what I hear upstate laws are a lot different than NYC laws. As TL asked...who would you be leaving them with and are there any handguns? This could pose serious legal questions.
    Last edited by CHEMICAL; December 1st, 2010 at 06:27 PM.

You are required to give your guns to a trusted PAFOA member before moving, who will make sure they are fired and cleaned regularly

Just kidding

The other posters hit correctly upon it...we are waiting for your answers

(Chester County)

You can loan firearms to another LTCF holder.

http://reference.pafoa.org/statutes/...ms-prohibited/
    Hoplophobia is funny

(Lancaster County)

Quote Originally Posted by HiredGoon View Post
    You are required to give your guns to a trusted PAFOA member before moving, who will make sure they are fired and cleaned regularly
    I like the way you think, and that should be part of the new Castle Doctrine law.
    Rules are written in the stone,