Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
    (Perry County)

Default My vent (seems to be all the rage)

A few years ago I was diagnosed with ADHD. Not a solid diagnosis as my family doctor based if off my results on an internet questionnaire. Seemed to be accurate though since I met over 90% of the indicators.

During a trip to a training with a corporal, I mentioned the diagnosis while venting. I was venting because my sergeant was sending me to another remedial training due to late reports. Now this training dealt with basic grammar and punctuation. I have a bachelors degree and 9 credits of a masters. I also have an IQ of 143 on the Stanford-Binet IQ test. Not to toot my own horn, but this means I am at or near genius.

The corporal (a friend I thought) told the sergeant and completed a letter that went up through the chain of command. The letter implied that I was faking a diagnosis to get one over on the department.

I returned from a Christmas vacation in January '08 to find I was on limited duty pending a psychological evaluation. Now anyone that knows anything about ADHD knows that if you have it as an adult, you have had it all your life. That means that while doing my job well (other than late reports) for 16 years, suddenly I was dangerous.

After being put through three evaluations, bypassed for promotion, (commissioner's discretion while on limited duty status) the diagnosis is confirmed. I refuse to be medicated and I am returned to full duty without the promotion I earned. I was returned to full duty because their hired gun even thought I was getting the shaft and told them there was no reason for the limited duty status.