Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Lancaster County)

Default Newbie considering a PPSH-43 or KP-44 Kit Build

I have never done a kit build, but these old SMG kits are tantalizing.

Some things you should know: a) I am legal age to do this, b) I have no experience with metal working, and c) I have the budget to do this.

My questions for the community are broad:

1. Has anybody done a build of either of these?
    2. Can the metal working skills required to finish an 80% receiver and do trigger group, bolt modification and welds be learned by somebody new without too much trouble? I am starting from step 0 - no equipment, no friends "who can do it all", no nothing except the desire to try.
    3. Anybody in southeast PA with experience interested in maybe doing a build together with me ?

I am open to any and all suggestions from the gurus at this forum. I would love to build one of these (leaning toward the KP-44), but don't want to throw away $300 in parts because I totally screwed it up the first time I tried to weld something.

Thanks!

(Chester County)

Default Re: Newbie considering a PPSH-43 or KP-44 Kit Build

you cannot manufacture new machine guns for personal use... not legal.. as a civilian you can only own machine guns registered with the atf by may of 1986...

(Lancaster County)

Sorry, I should have added that the plans is to build an ATF approved semi-auto receiver from an 80% semi-auto receiver blank/template. Gunsmith-friendly documentation exists (weaponeer/weaponsguild) for how to do exactly this (resulting in an ATF-approvable semi-auto firearm), which is my objective.

Sorry for any confusion or for raising concerns about anything illegal. I want to keep it all completely legal.

Legalities:
    I'm not familiar with the "KP-44", but the Ppsh-43 was a short barrelled sub machinegun with a folding stock. For a weapon like this to be legal as a "class 1 (non-NFA) weapon, one of the following would be true: