Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Question Static Electricity - Hazard?

With winter comes the increase of static electricity. I’ve been reloading for many decades and never thought about it before but while reloading recently had a few static discharge sparks when I touched a grounded outlet. It got me to thinking if there is a potential hazard from static discharge while I am handling powder/primers.

I’ve never seen anything written in reloading manuals nor have I ever seen any discussions on it.

Anyone out there take static discharge precautions? Seen any literature on the issue? Heard of any untoward events because of a discharge?

Does anyone ground their reloading bench? Wear a grounded wristband?

Default Re: Static Electricity - Hazard?

I always touch something metal, or better yet my son , before handling primers or powder.
    "Never give up, never surrender!" Commander Peter Quincy Taggart

(Somerset County)

Smile Re: Static Electricity - Hazard?

Re: Static Electricity - Hazard?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I always touch something metal, or better yet my son , before handling primers or powder.

Good advice, will work every time.
    We sleep soundly in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm.

George Orwell

(Schuylkill County)

No and No

Anything will burn if hot enough.

(Jefferson County)

Only with blackpowder do you really have to worry about static. Especially the finer grade powders.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515, SteveWag

Don't end up in my signature!

(Chester County)

Here is an interesting experiment with static electricity and black powder...