Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Help teaching new shooters

I have never taught a new shooter before...ever. I am relatively new to shooting as well, but am well versed in the basics thanks to my grandfather teaching me when I was younger.

However, I made a promise, mostly to myself but also publicly here, to try to take at least one new person shooting a month at my expense after my incident with Amtrak Police and my school. I fully intend to carry this out, but I would like to hear experiences and tips from those who have done this before.

My goal is:

To teach one new shooter (absolutely never having touched a firearm before) a month the basics of responsible firearms use and ownership; as well as their basic rights as a citizen both Constitutionally and in police encounters.

This is my intended sequence:

1.) They need to Memorize Colonel Jeff Coopers four rules before they ever even touch one of my guns.

2.) I will demonstrate proper handling, technique, and operation of a given firearm.

3.) I will let them fondle my piece () unloaded, but of course after they have removed the magazine and checked the chamber.

4.) Then I will allow them to have at it with responsive targets.

5.) Then I will try to get them to shoot more controlled (aka rifle marksmanship)

6.) Then we will discuss over coffee their opinion of guns, if it has changed, and their rights.

Firearms:

They will most likely all be started out on my bolt savage mark-II. Then if they demonstrate proper form I will let them shoot the 10/22. After that I may or may not let them play with my other toys since I am a college student and I really can't afford to pay for centerfire rifle cartridges for them, but if they demonstrate further interest I will let them shoot whatever they'd like on their dime.

---