Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Mauser Advice.

(Philadelphia County)

Default Mauser Advice.

I am very new to World War Era firearms. I have an appreciation for historic military firearms, ordinance, etc....
    I would very much like to start adding another level of firearms to my collection.

I am asking for advice about a particular rifle that has presented itself to me.
    One of my employees has a neighbor, who is selling the contents and the home of his deceased father. One of the items that he thought I would be interested in, is an old rifle.

I have not seen it yet, but I was given some information on it.

Markings on the bolt action read:

Mauser Modelo
    Argentino 1909

Deutsche Waffen-UND
    Munitionsfabriken Berlin

It is chambered in 7.65 Argentine
    And I was told that it is in perfect firing order, and the stock may have been refinished and the hardware is in beautiful polished condition (no rust or pitting).
    Again I have not seen it yet, but I may be going to look at it tonight or tomorrow. The man wants $200 for it. Now if it is in the shape that I am assuming, then I am sure it is worth it.

My question is: When I go to see it, what are some things that I should look for, to make sure it is worth the buy?

Thanks in advance,
    Ronnie
    Last edited by RONNIE77; September 25th, 2008 at 12:39 PM.
    ZRT -SECTOR-7
    "If you do not stand behind our troops, feel free to stand in front of them" - Unknown
    "Incoming fire has the right of way" - Murphy's Military Laws
    "Fast is fine, accuracy is final" - Larry Vickers

(Chester County)

Default Re: Mauser Advice.

I would seriously register here and ask them: http://www.surplusrifleforum.com/. Old Milsurp is ALL they do there.

(Lancaster County)

You could also try http://forums.gunboards.com/ Scroll down to the Military Mauser forum. Both are great sites but Gunboards seems to get more traffic.